Skip to content ↓

Early Years

Across our EYFS, we follow the Early Years Statutory Framework (2021). This Framework specifies the requirement for learning and development in the Early Years and provides prime and specific areas of learning we must cover in our curriculum.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In addition to the seven areas of learning, we develop children’s faith and spiritual understanding through the use of ‘Living and Growing as the People of God’. We encourage children to be actively engaged in their faith and all children take part in collective worship in assemblies, masses and liturgies both at school and in church. 

The children are taught the skills required in the EYFS through termly topics which are coherently planned to build upon the children’s current knowledge and understanding by a cumulative sequence of lessons. The pupils are encouraged to wonder and ask questions about what they are learning and this information is used to plan subsequent lessons.